This selective list comprises funding agencies, which have supported specific research and pilot projects and programs in Auroville and the neighboring villages.

International Organizations

  • European Commission (EC)
  • ICEF (India – Canadian Environment Facility)
  • OECD/Hunger Campaign
  • United Nations Centre for Human Settlements (UNCHS)
  • United Nations Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO)
Foreign Governments & Governmental Organizations
  • AUSTRALIA: Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
  • BELGIUM: Algemene Belgische Ontwikkelingssamenwerking (ABOS)
  • CANADA: Canadian High Commission in India
  • DENMARK: Danish International Development Agency (DANIDA)
  • FRANCE: Ministère des Affaires Etrangères
    • Bundesministerium für Wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit
    • Deutsche Welthunger Hilfe (FAO)
    • Deutsche Gesellschaft für Technische Zusammenarbeit (GTZ)
    • German Agro-Action
    • German Appropriate Technology Exchange (GATE)
    • Kreditanstalt für Wiederaufbau (KFW)
  • JAPAN: Japanese Embassy in India
  • NETHERLANDS: Royal Netherlands Embassy in India
  • NEW ZEALAND: New Zealand High Commission in India
  • SPAIN: Government of Navarra
  • U.K.: Overseas Development Administration (ODA now DFID)
  • USA: V.I.T.A. (Volunteers in Technical Assistance)
Foreign Non-Governmental Organizations
  • AUSTRALIA: Quaker Service Australia
  • CANADA: Centre Créatif l’Elan
    • Alliance Française
    • Secours Populaire Français
    • BORDA
    • Caritas
    • Deutsch – Indisches Kinderhilfswerk (DIK)
    • Friedrich-Naumann Stiftung
  • NETHERLANDS: Stichting de Zaaier
  • U.K.:
    • Commonwealth Human Ecology Council (CHEC)
    • Findhorn Foundation
    • OXFAM
  • U.S.A.:
    • Earthstewards Network
    • Infinity Foundation
    • Matagiri Centre
    • Threshold Foundation
    • Trickle-up Program

Indian Government and Governmental Organizations

Government of India
  • Building Material & Technology Promotion Council (BMTPC)
  • Ministry of Education
  • Ministry of Environment
  • Ministry of Human Resource Development
  • Ministry of Non-Conventional Energy Sources
  • Ministry of Rural Development
  • Ministry of Science and Technology
  • Housing and Urban Development Corporation (HUDCO)
  • Building Material & Technology Promotion Council (BMTPC), Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs
  • Indian Council of Philosophical Research (ICPR)
  • Indian Navy
  • Indian Renewable Energy Development Agency (IREDA)
  • National Wasteland Development Board (NWDB)
Pondicherry Government
  • District Rural Development Agency (DRDA)
Tamil Nadu Government
  • Tamil Nadu Energy Development Agency (TEDA)
  • Tamil Nadu Family Welfare Board
  • Tamil Nadu Social Welfare Board
  • Tamil Nadu State Forest Department
  • TRYSEM Programme
Indian Non-Governmental Organizations & Businesses
  • Aurofood
  • Bombay Natural History Society
  • Indian Oil Corporation
  • Indian Tobacco Company
  • INTACH Indian National Trust for Art and Cultural Heritage
  • J.R.D.Tata Trust
  • Sri Dorabji Tata Trust
  • Sri Ratan Tata Trust
  • Tata Energy Research Institute
  • Oil and Natural Gas Corporation